The National Gallery of Armenia
The National Gallery of Armenia was founded in 1921 and is a part of the Museum complex on the Republic Square.
The National Gallery is one of the biggest museums on the territory of CIS and has the world’s largest collection of works by Armenian artists. It has the most complete collection of the Armenian marine painter H. Ayvazovski. More than 20 thousand works of art are stored in the funds of the Gallery with more than 350 canvases and drawings in the Western-European section.
Presented here are paintings by Shagal, Rubens, Courbet, Kandinski, Repin, Briullov, Surikov, Petrov-Vodkin, while the Armenian section displays canvases by Sarian, Soureniants, Garzou, Fetvadjian and many other prominent painters.
The Museum of the history of Yerevan
Founded in 1931.
About 80 thousand exhibits are stored in the funds of the museum representing the history of Yerevan from the ancient times up to the present days.
Medieval writings, different travelers’ memoirs and graphic drawings, military banners, awards, weapons, jewelry, the oldest telephone sets and a movie camera from the earliest stage of cinematography, as well as the historical writing by the King of Urartu, Argishti I, on the foundation of the Erebuni city-fortress (today’s Yerevan).
The volumetric panoramic models show the visitors parts of old Yerevan re-created on the basis of the survived layouts, drawings and photos.
Among the displays one can find many articles related to the history of engineering and technology – clocks and clock mechanisms (among them the city’s tower clock), equipment of printing houses, first telephone sets and a movie camera from the earliest stage of cinematography.
(The Institute of Ancient Manuscripts)
Opened on March 1, 1959 , the Matenadaran is a unique institute and repository of ancient Armenian manuscripts.
More than 16 thousand manuscripts about the centuries-old history of the Armenian nation, art, literature and natural sciences are stored and studied in the Matenadaran. These are the works of more than 80 Armenian chroniclers of the 10 th ? 18 th centuries and their contemporaries, as well as translations of the works of outstanding scientists and great thinkers of antiquity and middle ages.
Some unique and ancient copies of manuscripts, the originals of which have irrevocably been lost, are also stored here and today people have the possibility to see them only in the Armenian translations.
The Matenadaran is of special value also as an art museum, where a unique collection of miniatures and other kinds of arts and crafts connected with manuscripts is kept: samples of fabrics, stamping on leather and jewelry.
Special repositories of manuscripts, restoration shops and laboratories are on the ground floor of the Matenadaran, while the exhibition halls, the research laboratories, the reading hall and the catalogs are located on the upper floors.
Hay-Art Cultural Center
Hay-Art Cultural Center was founded in 1997 on the initiative of the Municipality of Yerevan and is housed in the cylindrical buildings, which citizens call “Barrels”.
Hay-Art Cultural Center ‘s primary goal is to create an interactive field providing a venue for art and culture from both East and West. Trying to overcome cultural, religious, political and language barriers, Hay-Art implements balanced and quality programs where mutual understanding and cultural integration are paramount.
Hay-Art houses a permanent collection, which showcases both Eastern and Western contemporary artists.
The Museum of Russian Art
The works of Russian artists introduced in the exposition of the museum, are donated by professor A. Abrahamian, a collector, scientist and doctor from Moscow.
Here one can find the works of famous Russian artists such as Serov, Vrubel, Benua, Kustodiev, Konchalovski, Lansere, Goncharov, Petrov-Vodkin, Roerich.
The exposition is supplemented with graphics, sculpture, articles of arts and crafts related to earlier periods in furniture, bronze, porcelain and glass articles.
The House-Museum of Martiros Sarian
Martiros Sarian is a great Armenian painter, master of vivid and colorful landscapes, sharp portraits, festive still-lifes, decorative pictures, theatrical paintings and book illustrations. The House-Museum of Martiros Sarian was opened in 1967, on the government’s initiative, when the master was still alive. The 50 paintings donated to the museum by Sarian, served as a basis for the exposition. Later the collection was replenished by paintings of different periods of the artist’s creative work.
Visiting this museum established at the painter’s studio people can familiarize themselves with the works of this master of colors and light and feel the spirit of Armenia.
The House-Museum of Yervand Kochar
Yervand Kochar’s House Museum was opened in June 1984 in the master’s former studio. Sculpture, graphics and painting of all periods of the artist’s creative work are represented in the museum, as well as various photographs, documents and publications.
Kochar’s painting and graphics are extraordinary and call for speculations just as Picasso’s, Shagal’s, Dali’s works do. He rightfully can rank on a par with these great philosophers in art. His volumetric painting is one of the greatest achievements of modern art, while the cold wax paint technique revived by Kochar brought him the fame of a pioneer. Many foreign guests are familiar to Kochar’ art through his works presented in the Louvre Museum.
The Yeghishe Charents Memorial Home
Yeghishe Charents, a poet, who passionately glorified the revival of Armenia . His place among the constellation of the 20 th century poets has truly been pointed out by Louis Aragon: “The names of eminent poets embellish our century. In England its Kipling, in France – Apollinaire and Eluard, in Germany – Rilke, in Spain – Garcia Lorca, in Russia – Mayakovski and Yesenin, in Armenia – Charents and Isahakian”.
The Museum was established in the house, where the poet lived during the last two years of his life. A library with more than 6 thousand volumes is stored in the funds of the museum and only part of it is displayed. Many of the exhibited books bear the poet’s autograph.
The House-Museum of Avetik Isahakian
The lyric poet and academician Avetik Isahakian had a great contribution on Armenian literature, his works rank among the jewels of international lyric poetry.
The Museum was established in 1963 in the house, where the poet lived from 1947 to 1957. The poet’s study, bedroom and sitting room are kept as they used to be.
Articles belonging to the poet, his sitting room furniture, the library and paintings of famous painters – the authors’ gifts to the poet – are exhibited on the first floor.
Lifetime publications and translations of Isahakian’s works in many languages of the world are also exhibited here.
The Museum of A. Tamanian
Architect Alexander Tamanian is the author of the master plan of Yerevan.
The Museum of A. Tamanian was founded in October 2001. Visiting the museum, one can become familiar with Tamanian’s unique projects, the master plan of Yerevan , in accordance with which the capital of Armenia has developed and expanded till now.
A thorough study of the national architectural heritage, a daring combination of personal experience and architectural solutions of the past, an insight into the national constructive thinking and designing – this is Alexander Tamanian in his best projects.
The State Museum of History of Armenia
Founded in 1921, the State Museum of History of Armenia is part of the Museum Complex on the Republic Square. The museum has about 400 thousand exhibits.
The permanent exposition covers the whole history of the Armenian people – from the times of primitive society until recent days.
Artifacts discovered during excavations of monuments of different eras are presented in the here: primitive tools, weapons and utensils from the times of Urartu and other Armenian states; sculptures, adornments, crafts of different historical areas of Armenia .
The museum has a rich library (about 50 thousand items), many of which are unique publications, among them: the first Armenian printed book “Urbatagirk” ( Venice , 1512).
The Erebuni Museum
The Museum of the history of the foundation of Yerevan was built in 1968 at the foot of the Arin-Berd hill, on top of which the Urartan city-fortress Erebuni had once been constructed.
It was the earliest and largest urban-type settlement in the Urartan Empire (one of the mightiest slave-holding states of the Ancient East), a major military and administrative center of the country. The city was built by Argishti I, the king of Urartu, in 782 B.C., as testified by a Khorkhorian and two other identical cuneiform inscriptions, found on the Arin-Berd hill.
The Erebuni Museum has a rich collection of items and artifacts related to the Urartan period: weapons, armor, cuneiform inscriptions, cups, jars, seals, bronze bracelets, glass, agate and sard beads telling about the tastes and habits of inhabitants of the fortress.
The Republican Center of Children’s Aesthetic Education
Founded in 1970, the complex of the Republican Center of Children’s Aesthetic Education includes the first Children’s Picture Gallery in the world, exhibition halls, a concert hall and a library, as well as studios where children are initiated into the world of music, dancing, painting, sculpture and applied arts.
On display here are 150 thousand works of children from the Former Soviet Union and 100 other countries: pictures, sculptures, embroidery, appliquГ© work, carpets, tapestries, masks, dolls, which will hardly leave anybody indifferent.
The show-cases of the gallery usher us into the empire of children’s imagination. The immaculate world of childhood often recurs to the memories of the visitors of this unusual museum, one of the few on the planet.
The Museum of Folk Art of Armenia
The Museum was established in 1978 on the basis of the funds of the House of Folk Art.The Museum has a representative exposition of different branches of Armenian folk art starting from the ancient times and up to the present days.
These are the works of non-professional masters – silverware, stamping, soldering of decorated patterns, filigree, articles with semiprecious and ornamental stones, wood and stone carved articles, ceramics, carpets, needlework, etc.
Perhaps, only in this museum it is possible to see exquisite lace pieces made with the technique specific for the areas of Western Armenia , which remind the viewer of the embroidery of Armenian khachkars (cross-stones).
The Armenian Genocide Museum
The Museum of the Armenian Genocide was opened in 1995, in time for the commemoration of the 80th anniversary of the Armenian Genocide perpetrated by the Ottoman Turks in 1915. The museum is built on the hill of Tsitsernakaberd, on the territory of the monument to the Genocide Victims. On the upper floor of this two-story building there are 3 halls arranged in a semicircle.
The exposition contains documents and photographs revealing the history of preparation and realization of the Armenian Genocide by the ruling circles of Ottoman Turkey. Also exhibited are materials issued by different international organizations and parliaments of foreign countries condemning the Genocide.
The first floor of the Museum houses the library, storage rooms for documents, a conference hall and offices as the museum is also a scientific research center of the history of the Armenian Genocide.
The House-Museum of Aram Khachaturian
The greatest composer of our times Aram Kachaturian introduced the ancient Armenian music to the world with a fresh sound. He gained international fame with his immortal compositions such as the “Gayaneh” and “Spartak” ballets, the music to Lermontov’s drama “Mascarade”.
The setting of the house and the composer’s study is carefully recreated in the memorial part of the Museum. In the 10 halls of the second floor the visitors can see expositions dedicated to Khachaturian’s activities as a composer, conductor, teacher and musicologist. The Museum has a library, a fund for musical literature, manuscripts and documents, as well as a 200-seat chamber concert hall.
The House-Museum of Hovannes Tumanian
Hovannes Tumanian is Armenia itself – old and new, reborn and immortalized in the great master’s poems. Tumanian entered the history of Armenian literature as a great national poet who gave the world the epic poems “Anoush” and “The seizure of Tmkaberd”, the legend “Akhtamar”. There’s no child in Armenia who doesn’t know Tumanian’s stories and tales.
Tumanian’s Musem was established in 1953, the founder and the first director was the poet’s daughter. The Museum has succeeded in recreating the atmosphere where Tumanian used to live and work , reconstructing the interiors of the dining and sitting rooms and the study of the poet’s Tbilisi house.
The Museum presents Tumanian’s personal library of more than 8000 volumes dedicated to studies on the Caucasus and Armenia, the history, culture, religion and folklore of various nations. The library is open for researchers of the poet’s works.
The House-Museum of Alexander Spendiarian
Alexander Spendiarian is a great Armenian composer, conductor, founder of national symphonic music, author of the “Almast” opera, the “Three palms” symphonic episode and many other compositions replete with true Armenian spirit.
Spendiarian ‘s Museum was established in 1967 in the house, where the composer lived during the last years of his life. The Museum has recreated the genuine atmosphere of the composer’s study and presents the composer’s personal belongings, numerous documents, etc.
Concerts and literary soirees are frequently organized in the museum.
The Studio-Museum of Minas Avetisian
The great Armenian painter Minas Avetisian did not only bring intensive, fresh color vision into the national painting, but also created a special, hitherto unfamiliar image of the Armenian nature, some kind of a collective image of the severe mountainous country.
The Studio-Museum of Minas Avetisian was opened in 1977 and is located in the penthouse of the building where the artist lived.
The Museum exhibits mainly the works of the last years of the artist’s life. Articles familiar from Minas’ paintings are displayed in a large hall, where one can see a fine, bright-colored carpet, old Armenian ceramics and metal utensils, armchairs with high woven backs, a piece of carved balcony balustrade and a palette – black and charred from the fire in Minas’ studio in 1972.
The Sergei Parajanov Museum
Sergei Parajanov is a great director, who created a new language in cinematography, an artist, whose work has no direct analogies in world art.
The museum was founded by government resolution in 1988, but construction was delayed because of the earthquake of 1988 and the museum was opened in 1991.
The basis of the museum collection consists of more than 600 works of Parajanov. The museum’s exposition contains his correspondence with different famous cultural figures, many documents and photographs.
The director’s artistic work is of great interest: his collages, ceramics, dolls, drawings, assemblages and film sketches allow us to speak about him as a unique and highly original artist with amazing fantasy, wit and artistry.